Walter-Payton Trophy: the 32 finalists

Seattle Seahawks star quarterback Russell Wilson and Kansas City Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce are among the 32 finalists for the Walter Payton Trophy, which is awarded to the player who excels in his sport and is involved in a cause in outside the field.

“This year has been particularly difficult for all of us, because of the pandemic but also because of all the injustices we have witnessed,” said NFL commissioner Roger Goodell. The 32 finalists for the Walter-Payton Trophy continued to raise our awareness of various issues by using their voice and their platform to have a positive impact on their respective communities. ”

This trophy, which will be presented on a television broadcast during Super Bowl week when the Associated Press unveils the winners of its individual honors, was first awarded in 1970 and renamed in 1999 in memory of the legendary wearer.

The 32 finalists will receive a check for US $ 40,000 to donate to the cause of their choice, and the winner of the trophy will receive an additional $ 250,000 to reward the organization of their choice.

Among the active players who have already won this title are Drew Brees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Jason Witten, JJ Watt and Calais Campbell.

The nominees are:

Arizona: Corey Peters

Atlanta: Steven Means

Baltimore: Bradley Bozeman

Buffalo: Harrison Phillips

Caroline: Shaq Thompson

Chicago: Jimmy Graham

Cincinnati: Geno Atkins

Cleveland: Myles Garrett

Dallas: Jaylon Smith

Denver: Justin Simmons

Detroit: Trey Flowers

Green Bay: Corey Linsley

Houston: Michael Thomas

Indianapolis: Jacoby Brissett

Jacksonville: Josh Lambo

Kansas City: Travis Kelce

New Orleans: Demario Davis

Las Vegas: Alec Ingold

Los Angeles Chargers: Isaac Rochell

Los Angeles Rams: Andrew Whitworth

Miami: Byron Jones

Minnesota: Eric Kendricks

New England: Devin McCourty

New York Giants: Dalvin Tomlinson

New York Jets: Pierre Desir

Philadelphia: Rodney McLeod

Pittsburgh: Vance McDonald

San Francisco: Arik Armstead

Seattle: Russell Wilson

Tampa Bay: Mike Evans

Tennessee: Kevin Byard

Washington: Jonathan Allen

Steve is the lead writer for Jets Nation.  An avid football fan, Steve enjoys digging deep to find the story behind the numbers.  Steve has preciously contributed to SB Nation and Medium.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *